NP Blog / Compare NP Review Options / NPPace vs UWorld NP: Price for the Same Study Time, Exam Formats and Explanations Compared
NPPace vs UWorld NP: Price for the Same Study Time, Exam Formats and Explanations Compared

NPPace vs UWorld NP: Price for the Same Study Time, Exam Formats and Explanations Compared

By Ala Alrashaeideh, Founder, NPPace·7 min read·Updated 2026-11-02
The short answer

For the same study time, UWorld's FNP QBank costs less than NPPace ($269 vs $300 for about three months, $299 vs $500 for about six) and already lists more than 1,100 FNP questions, while NPPace is still building its bank. NPPace covers FNP and AGNP under one plan, includes unlimited timed full-length exams in both the AANP and ANCC formats, and nothing renews. Choose on your track, how much full-length simulation you want, and how settled you need the question bank to be.

For the same length of study, UWorld's FNP QBank costs less than NPPace: $269 against $300 for roughly three months, and $299 against $500 for roughly six. UWorld also lists more than 1,100 FNP practice questions today, while NPPace is new and still building its FNP and AGNP question bank. NPPace's differences are format and coverage rather than price: one plan for both FNP and AGNP, unlimited timed full-length exams in the AANP and ANCC formats, explanations with sources, and a single payment that never renews.

What each product is

UWorld FNP QBank. UWorld Nursing sells an online question bank for the Family Nurse Practitioner certification exams from both boards. Its product page describes 1,100+ FNP practice questions, custom practice sets that can be built as AANP or ANCC sets by domain and system, timed and tutor modes, a missed-question retake option, spaced-repetition flashcards, a digital notebook, a mobile app for iOS and Android, an AI assistant called UAsk with a prompt allowance that grows with plan length, and a 7-day free trial with 50 sample questions and no credit card required. Content is described as written by specialist NPs and reviewed by an in-house team of more than 40 nurses and clinicians.

NPPace. NPPace is a new board-exam prep product for the FNP and AGNP exams from NPCB (AANP) and ANCC. It is built on the same platform as NCLEXPace, an NCLEX prep site from the same founder, Ala Alrashaeideh. Practice questions are written as primary-care cases with guideline-based explanations and sources. The plan includes unlimited timed full-length exams in the AANP format (150 questions, 3 hours) and the ANCC format (175 questions, 3.5 hours), analytics by body system and exam domain, and a personal study plan built from the user's own answers. The question bank is being built now, so NPPace does not publish a question count.

Who each one fits

UWorld fits an FNP candidate who wants a finished, sizable bank on day one, likes studying on a phone, and wants flexible plan lengths, including short 30-day and 60-day options for a final push. It also fits a candidate who wants a free trial before paying.

NPPace fits a candidate who wants repeated full-length timed exams in the exact format of the board they chose, an AGNP candidate who wants both tracks covered under one plan, or a candidate who prefers a single payment with no renewal. Because the bank is still growing, it fits most naturally as a second bank or as a candidate's main bank only after they have looked at the current content themselves.

Question and exam format

Feature UWorld FNP QBank NPPace Source
Tracks FNP; AGNP or AGPCNP not stated on their site FNP and AGNP UWorld FNP page; NPPace
Board formats Custom AANP or ANCC sets by domain and system AANP and ANCC UWorld FNP page; NPPace
Question count 1,100+ FNP questions Bank being built; no count published UWorld FNP page; NPPace
Full-length timed exams Number and length not stated on their site; practice blocks for stamina Unlimited, 150 questions in 3 hours (AANP) and 175 in 3.5 hours (ANCC) UWorld FNP page; NPPace
Study modes Timed and tutor Timed full-length exams and practice questions UWorld FNP page; NPPace
Analytics Reports by domain and system, progress dashboard By body system and exam domain UWorld FNP page; NPPace
Study plan Not stated on the FNP page Personal plan built from the user's own answers UWorld FNP page; NPPace
Extras Flashcards, notebook, mobile app, AI prompts Not part of the stated plan UWorld FNP page; NPPace

UWorld's page was read on 2026-11-02. The board exam lengths come from the NPCB and ANCC pages listed in the sources.

The practical difference is in how practice turns into exam rehearsal. UWorld's tools let a candidate shape a block by board, domain and system, and the page says the interface aligns with both blueprints. NPPace builds its exam rehearsal around the real test length: 150 items in 3 hours or 175 items in 3.5 hours, as many times as the candidate wants. Both boards allow roughly 72 seconds per question, and sitting through the full clock several times is a different kind of practice from 40-question blocks, mainly for stamina and pacing.

Explanations and sources

UWorld's page describes in-depth explanations that cover why each answer choice is right or wrong, with clinical illustrations and visual rationales. The page does not state whether explanations cite references or guidelines; that is not stated on their site.

NPPace explanations are guideline-based and list their sources, so a candidate can see which guideline a recommendation comes from. For primary care topics such as blood pressure targets, diabetes second agents or statin decisions, knowing the source helps when a review book and a question bank seem to disagree, because the candidate can check which document each one follows.

Neither approach replaces reading the explanation for every missed question. A candidate who reviews explanations carefully gets more from either bank than one who only tracks percentages.

Price per month of access

UWorld sells access in days; NPPace sells it in months. The table converts UWorld prices to a 30-day cost and NPPace prices to a monthly cost so that the same study time can be compared.

Plan Access Price Cost per 30 days or per month Source
UWorld FNP 30 days $199 $199.00 UWorld FNP page
UWorld FNP 60 days $229 $114.50 UWorld FNP page
UWorld FNP 90 days $269 $89.67 UWorld FNP page
UWorld FNP 180 days $299 $49.83 UWorld FNP page
UWorld FNP 360 days $349 $29.08 UWorld FNP page
NPPace 3 months US$300 $100.00 NPPace
NPPace 6 months US$500 $83.33 NPPace

UWorld also lists renewal prices of $100 (30 days), $150 (60 days), $200 (90 days) and $250 (180 days), which require renewing before the subscription expires. Its 180-day and 360-day plans include a one-time reset, available after 180 consecutive days of active subscription. The page states there is no pause or freeze option. NPPace is paid once and nothing renews.

Read plainly: at about three months UWorld costs $31 less, and at about six months it costs $201 less. A candidate choosing on price alone for the same study time will choose UWorld. The price difference is the cost of NPPace's format features and AGNP coverage, and each candidate can decide whether those are worth it.

What NPPace does not have yet

An honest comparison has to state what the newer product lacks today.

  • A finished bank. NPPace is building its FNP and AGNP question bank now and publishes no question count. UWorld lists 1,100+ FNP questions.
  • A track record. NPPace is new, publishes no pass rate yet and has not published guarantee terms. UWorld's FNP page does not state a guarantee either.
  • Short plans. NPPace's shortest plan is 3 months. UWorld offers 30-day and 60-day plans for a candidate whose exam is close.
  • Extras beyond the core bank. UWorld lists flashcards, a notebook, a mobile app and an AI assistant. These are not part of NPPace's stated plan.
  • A video course or textbook. NPPace is a question bank with timed exams, analytics and a study plan. Content review still has to come from a course, a book or program notes.

How to decide

Work through these questions in order.

  1. Which track are you taking? An FNP candidate can use either product. An AGNP candidate should confirm with UWorld before buying, because its page describes FNP only.
  2. How long until your exam? With less than 60 days left, UWorld's 30-day or 60-day plans fit the calendar better than a 3-month plan. With six months or more, UWorld's 180-day and 360-day plans are less expensive per month than anything NPPace sells.
  3. How much full-length rehearsal do you want? If you plan to sit several complete 150-item or 175-item timed exams before test day, check how each product supports that. NPPace includes them without limit; UWorld's page does not state a number.
  4. Do you want sources in the explanations? If checking the guideline behind an answer matters to you, compare a few explanations from each product side by side.
  5. Do you want a finished bank? If a candidate wants every topic already covered on day one, UWorld's current size is the safer choice today.

A free trial is the cheapest test of fit. UWorld offers 7 days with 50 sample questions; use them in timed mode and judge whether the explanations teach you something you did not know.

Key points

  • At comparable lengths UWorld's FNP QBank costs less: $269 for 90 days and $299 for 180 days, against US$300 for 3 months and US$500 for 6 months at NPPace.
  • UWorld lists 1,100+ FNP questions; NPPace is new and still building its FNP and AGNP bank, with no question count published.
  • UWorld's page describes FNP only; AGNP or AGPCNP coverage is not stated on their site. NPPace covers FNP and AGNP under one plan.
  • NPPace includes unlimited timed full-length exams in the AANP (150 questions, 3 hours) and ANCC (175 questions, 3.5 hours) formats; UWorld's page does not state the number or length of full-length self-assessments.
  • UWorld lists renewal prices and has no pause option; NPPace is paid once and nothing renews.
  • UWorld offers a 7-day free trial with 50 sample questions and no credit card; a timed run of those questions is a low-cost test of fit.

Related NPPace guides

Frequently asked questions

Common follow-up questions on Compare NP Review Options.

Does UWorld have an AGNP or AGPCNP question bank?

UWorld's nurse practitioner page read on 2026-11-02 describes an FNP QBank only and does not mention AGNP or AGPCNP. AGNP candidates should ask UWorld directly before buying.

Does UWorld include full-length practice exams for the NP boards?

The FNP page describes custom AANP or ANCC sets by domain and system, timed and tutor modes, and practice blocks for stamina. The number and length of full-length self-assessments are not stated on their site.

Which is cheaper per month?

At comparable lengths UWorld is cheaper: about $89.67 per 30 days on its 90-day plan and $49.83 on its 180-day plan, against $100 and $83.33 per month for NPPace's 3-month and 6-month plans.

Can I use both?

Yes. A candidate can use one bank for daily practice and the other for timed full-length exams; the cost of both should be weighed against the time left before the exam.

Sources and references

  1. UWorld Nursing. UWorld FNP Practice Question Bank. https://nursing.uworld.com/fnp/ (read 2026-11-02)
  2. Nurse Practitioners Certification Board (AANPCB). Certify: fees and exam overview. 2026. https://www.aanpcert.org/certify/
  3. American Nurses Credentialing Center. Family Nurse Practitioner Certification (FNP-BC). 2026. https://www.nursingworld.org/our-certifications/family-nurse-practitioner/
Put this into practice

FNP and AGNP board questions written as primary-care cases, with guideline-based explanations, for the AANP and ANCC exams. Create a free account and pick your track.

Create Free Account →