NP Blog / Compare NP Review Options / NPPace vs Leik: A Question Bank vs the Review Book, and Why Many Candidates Use Both
NPPace vs Leik: A Question Bank vs the Review Book, and Why Many Candidates Use Both

NPPace vs Leik: A Question Bank vs the Review Book, and Why Many Candidates Use Both

By Ala Alrashaeideh, Founder, NPPace·8 min read·Updated 2026-11-02
The short answer

Leik's FNP Certification Intensive Review is a content review book, now in its sixth edition, with an optional online course of 2,000+ questions and continuous access; NPPace is a new question bank and exam simulator for FNP and AGNP that is still building its question bank. They do different jobs: the book teaches and condenses the content, and the bank tests whether that content holds up under timed, case-based questions. A candidate who learns well from reading can start with the book and add a bank for timed practice; a candidate who learns by doing questions can start with the bank and use the book as a reference.

Leik and NPPace are not the same kind of product, so the honest answer is that they compete less than they complement. Maria Leik's FNP Certification Intensive Review is a condensed content review book, now in its sixth edition, that Springer Publishing sells in print and with an online course of 2,000+ questions; NPPace is a new question bank and timed exam simulator for the FNP and AGNP exams that is still building its bank. A candidate choosing between them is really choosing which gap to close first: missing content, or missing practice applying that content under time pressure.

What each product is

Leik: FNP Certification Intensive Review. The book is written by Maria T. Codina Leik, who holds FNP and AGPCNP board certifications, and is published by Springer Publishing. Springer's sixth-edition page lists a release date of July 28, 2026, and states that the resources prepare candidates for the NPCB (formerly AANPCB) and ANCC Family Nurse Practitioner exams. Buyers can add a printed paperback, a Digital Course Review on Springer's ExamPrepConnect platform, an On-Demand Video module, or both digital modules at a stated 10% discount. The Digital Course Review is described as 2,000+ exam-style questions with detailed rationales and 2 full-length practice exams in timed and study modes. Access is described as a license for continuous access, subject to Springer's Terms of Use, with no number of months stated.

Springer also sells an FNP Certification Ultimate Review Online Bundle. Its page, which refers to the fifth edition of the book, lists a 1,300+ question bank, 4 full-length timed practice tests, 13 hours of video lessons led by Dr. Karen Myrick with downloadable slides, and 500+ flashcards, for 2,000 questions in total, with continuous access, from $449.99.

NPPace. NPPace is a new board-exam prep product for the FNP and AGNP exams from NPCB (AANP) and ANCC, built on the same platform as NCLEXPace, an NCLEX prep site from the same founder, Ala Alrashaeideh. It is a question bank, not a book: practice questions are written as primary-care cases with guideline-based explanations and sources. The plan includes unlimited timed full-length exams in the AANP format (150 questions, 3 hours) and the ANCC format (175 questions, 3.5 hours), analytics by body system and exam domain, and a personal study plan built from the user's own answers. The bank is being built now, and NPPace publishes no question count.

Why the two formats do different jobs

A review book organizes the content: body system by body system, with diagnostic criteria, first-line drugs, screening intervals and the facts that board questions draw on. Its strength is coverage and structure. Its limit is that reading a fact is different from recognizing it inside a 6-line vignette with two plausible answers.

A question bank does the opposite. It shows a candidate where knowledge breaks down under timed, applied conditions, and the explanations repair the specific gap. Its limit is that it covers content in the order the questions appear, not in a structured outline.

That is why pairing the two makes sense: the book builds the knowledge, and the bank checks and sharpens it. Leik's own digital course adds questions to the book for the same reason.

Who each one fits

Leik fits a candidate who learns from reading and outlining, who wants one physical reference to annotate, or whose program used the book in class. It also fits a candidate on a tight budget who wants content review at a single price with no expiry date on a printed copy.

NPPace fits a candidate who already has the content from coursework and wants repeated timed exams in the format of the board they chose, an AGNP candidate who wants both tracks covered in one plan, or a candidate who reads the Leik book and wants a separate bank so the questions are not the same ones that accompany the book. Because the NPPace bank is still growing, a candidate should look at the current content before relying on it as the only source of practice questions.

Question and exam format

Feature Leik (Springer, sixth edition) NPPace Source
Product type Review book with optional online course and video Question bank and timed exam simulator Springer sixth-edition page; NPPace
Tracks FNP (NPCB and ANCC); AGNP edition not verified FNP and AGNP Springer sixth-edition page; NPPace
Online questions 2,000+ with rationales (Digital Course Review) Bank being built; no count published Springer sixth-edition page; NPPace
Full-length practice exams 2, timed and study modes Unlimited, AANP (150 questions, 3 hours) and ANCC (175 questions, 3.5 hours) formats Springer sixth-edition page; NPPace
Analytics Not stated on the sixth-edition page By body system and exam domain Springer sixth-edition page; NPPace
Study plan Not stated on the sixth-edition page Personal plan built from the user's own answers Springer sixth-edition page; NPPace
Video On-Demand Video module, sold separately Not part of the stated plan Springer sixth-edition page; NPPace
Mobile app Not stated on their site Not part of the stated plan Springer pages; NPPace

Springer pages were read on 2026-11-02. Exam lengths come from the NPCB and ANCC pages listed in the sources.

The number of full-length exams is the clearest format difference. Two full-length practice exams let a candidate measure readiness at two points. Unlimited full-length exams let a candidate rehearse pacing and stamina as often as needed, which matters most to a candidate who has run out of time on long exams before.

Explanations and sources

Springer describes the Digital Course Review questions as having detailed rationales. The page read for this article does not say whether rationales cite guidelines or references; that is not stated on their site. The book itself is a condensed review, and its value is that the author has already distilled the material into exam-relevant points.

NPPace explanations are guideline-based and list their sources. When a candidate meets a disagreement between a review book and a bank, for example on a blood pressure target or a screening age, a cited source makes it possible to check which guideline and which year each one follows.

Price and length of access

Leik is sold as one-time purchases with no stated end date; NPPace is sold as a fixed period of access. A cost per month cannot be calculated for continuous access, so the table shows what each purchase includes and for how long.

Option What it includes Access Price Source
Leik printed edition (sixth) Paperback book No expiry for print $129.99 Springer sixth-edition page
Leik Digital Course Review 2,000+ questions, 2 full-length practice exams Continuous access, subject to Terms of Use $129.99 Springer sixth-edition page
Leik On-Demand Video Video module Continuous access, subject to Terms of Use $149.99 Springer sixth-edition page
Leik Ultimate Review Online Bundle Fifth-edition book, 1,300+ question bank, 4 practice tests, 13 hours of video, 500+ flashcards Continuous access, subject to Terms of Use From $449.99 Springer Ultimate bundle page
NPPace, 3 months Full plan 3 months, nothing renews US$300 ($100.00 per month) NPPace
NPPace, 6 months Full plan 6 months, nothing renews US$500 ($83.33 per month) NPPace

The sixth-edition page shows the item prices but did not display a combined total for multiple modules, so a buyer should confirm the cart total at checkout. Springer's page also states that it does not guarantee quality or digital access for purchases from third-party sellers.

For a candidate who wants the book and some practice questions at the lowest cost, the Leik paperback plus Digital Course Review adds up to $259.98 before any discount, which is less than either NPPace plan.

What NPPace does not have yet

  • A finished bank. NPPace is building its FNP and AGNP bank now and publishes no question count. Leik's Digital Course Review lists 2,000+ questions.
  • A content review book or video course. NPPace is a question bank with timed exams, analytics and a study plan. A candidate who needs structured content review needs a book, a course or program notes in addition.
  • A track record. NPPace is new, publishes no pass rate yet and has not published guarantee terms.
  • Access without an end date. Leik's digital products are described as continuous access; NPPace access ends after 3 or 6 months.

How to decide

  1. Do you know the content, or not yet? If many topics feel unfamiliar, content review comes first, and a book like Leik's is built for that. If the content is familiar but practice scores are low, a question bank is the faster lever.
  2. How do you learn? A candidate who outlines and annotates may get more from a book. A candidate who learns from mistakes may get more from reading an explanation after a missed question.
  3. How many full-length timed exams do you want? Leik's sixth-edition course includes 2. NPPace includes unlimited exams in both board formats.
  4. Which track? FNP candidates can use either. AGNP candidates should confirm Springer's AGNP edition directly, since it was not verified for this article; NPPace covers AGNP in the same plan.
  5. What is the budget? The Leik book alone is $129.99. Using both a book and a bank is a reasonable plan when the budget allows, because the two cover different weaknesses.

Key points

  • Leik's FNP Certification Intensive Review is a content review book, sixth edition released July 28, 2026, covering the NPCB and ANCC FNP exams; NPPace is a new question bank and exam simulator for FNP and AGNP.
  • Springer lists the paperback at $129.99, a Digital Course Review (2,000+ questions, 2 full-length practice exams) at $129.99, and an On-Demand Video module at $149.99, with continuous access to digital products.
  • NPPace costs US$300 for 3 months or US$500 for 6 months, paid once; it includes unlimited timed full-length exams in the AANP and ANCC formats.
  • NPPace is still building its bank and publishes no question count or pass rate yet and has not published guarantee terms; Springer's pages mention a pass guarantee without stating its terms.
  • The book builds content knowledge and the bank tests it under time pressure, which is why using both is a reasonable plan when the budget allows.

Related NPPace guides

Frequently asked questions

Common follow-up questions on Compare NP Review Options.

What is the current edition of the Leik FNP book?

Springer Publishing's product page lists FNP Certification Intensive Review, Sixth Edition, by Maria T. Codina Leik, with a release date of July 28, 2026. Check the edition before buying a used copy.

Does Leik have a question bank or app?

Springer sells a Digital Course Review on its ExamPrepConnect platform with 2,000+ exam-style questions and 2 full-length practice exams, listed at $129.99 as an add-on. A separate Leik mobile app is not stated on their site.

Does the Leik book come with a pass guarantee?

The sixth-edition page lists a Pass Guarantee section and the Ultimate Review Online Bundle page says the course is guaranteed, but neither page read on 2026-11-02 states the terms. Ask Springer for the written terms before relying on it.

Is there a Leik book for AGNP?

Springer's catalog lists an AGNP Certification Intensive Review title, but its product page could not be loaded during research for this article, so its edition, contents and price are not covered here.

Sources and references

  1. Springer Publishing. FNP Certification Intensive Review (Digital Access: ExamPrepConnect), Sixth Edition. https://www.springerpub.com/fnp-certification-intensive-review-digital-access-upgradable-bundle.html (read 2026-11-02)
  2. Springer Publishing. FNP Certification Ultimate Review Online Bundle (Digital Access: ExamPrepConnect). https://www.springerpub.com/exam-prep-and-study-tools/fnp-certification-ultimate-review-online-bundle-digital-access-examprepconnect-9780826148933.html (read 2026-11-02)
  3. Nurse Practitioners Certification Board (AANPCB). Certify: fees and exam overview. 2026. https://www.aanpcert.org/certify/
  4. American Nurses Credentialing Center. Family Nurse Practitioner Certification (FNP-BC). 2026. https://www.nursingworld.org/our-certifications/family-nurse-practitioner/
Put this into practice

FNP and AGNP board questions written as primary-care cases, with guideline-based explanations, for the AANP and ANCC exams. Create a free account and pick your track.

Create Free Account →