NP Blog / Compare NP Review Options / NPPace vs BoardVitals NP: Question Banks Compared on Format, Price and Guarantees
NPPace vs BoardVitals NP: Question Banks Compared on Format, Price and Guarantees

NPPace vs BoardVitals NP: Question Banks Compared on Format, Price and Guarantees

By Ala Alrashaeideh, Founder, NPPace·7 min read·Updated 2026-11-02
The short answer

BoardVitals sells separate AANP FNP (1,500+ questions) and ANCC FNP (1,800+ questions) banks that cost less per month than NPPace at 3 and 6 months, and its 3-month and 6-month plans carry a written pass guarantee that extends access free if the candidate fails. NPPace is new, still building its FNP and AGNP bank, offers no guarantee, and costs more, but one plan covers both boards and both tracks and includes unlimited full-length timed exams. The choice turns on track, how many full-length exams you want, and how much a published question count and a guarantee matter to you.

BoardVitals is the lower-cost option per month at 3 and 6 months, it publishes question counts for separate AANP FNP and ANCC FNP banks, and its longer plans carry a written pass guarantee. NPPace is new, still building its FNP and AGNP bank, and offers no guarantee, so on those three points BoardVitals is ahead today. NPPace's differences are coverage and format: one plan for both boards and both tracks, unlimited timed full-length exams in each board's format, and guideline-based explanations with sources.

What each product is

BoardVitals FNP banks. BoardVitals sells online question banks for many medical and nursing certification exams. For the Family Nurse Practitioner exams it lists two separate banks on two pages: an AANP FNP bank with more than 1,500 practice questions, and an ANCC FNP bank whose plans list 1,800+ questions (the page introduction says more than 1,900). Each bank is sold in three plans, Cram (1 month), Prepare (3 months) and Master (6 months), plus a free trial with select questions and no credit card. Features listed on all plans include detailed explanations and rationales, a timed option, subject-based custom tests, and progress analytics with national-average comparison; the ANCC page also lists a mobile app. The Prepare and Master plans add the pass guarantee, an Ask a Clinician feature, and "Buy Now, Start Later" for up to 6 months. A full-length practice exam and a CE certificate worth 90 ANCC contact hours are sold as add-ons.

NPPace. NPPace is a new board-exam prep product for the FNP and AGNP exams from NPCB (AANP) and ANCC, built on the same platform as NCLEXPace, an NCLEX prep site from the same founder, Ala Alrashaeideh. Practice questions are written as primary-care cases with guideline-based explanations and sources. One plan includes unlimited timed full-length exams in the AANP format (150 questions, 3 hours) and the ANCC format (175 questions, 3.5 hours), analytics by body system and exam domain, and a personal study plan built from the user's own answers. The bank is being built now, and NPPace publishes no question count.

Who each one fits

BoardVitals fits an FNP candidate who has already chosen a board, wants a bank with a published size, values a written pass guarantee, or wants to earn CE contact hours from the same purchase. Its 1-month Cram plan also fits a candidate who needs a short final review.

NPPace fits a candidate who has not yet settled on a board and wants to practice in both formats under one plan, an AGNP candidate, or a candidate who wants to sit many complete timed exams without buying add-ons. Because the bank is still growing, a candidate should review the current content before using it as a sole source of practice.

Question and exam format

Feature BoardVitals AANP FNP BoardVitals ANCC FNP NPPace Source
Tracks FNP; AGNP not mentioned FNP; AGNP not mentioned FNP and AGNP BoardVitals FNP pages; NPPace
Board coverage AANP only ANCC only AANP and ANCC in one plan BoardVitals FNP pages; NPPace
Question count 1,500+ 1,800+ on plans (1,900+ in page introduction) Bank being built; no count published BoardVitals FNP pages; NPPace
Full-length exam Add-on, 150 questions Add-on, 175 questions Unlimited, 150 questions in 3 hours or 175 in 3.5 hours BoardVitals FNP pages; NPPace
Modes Timed option, custom tests by subject Timed option, custom tests, adaptive quizzes Timed full-length exams and practice questions BoardVitals FNP pages; NPPace
Analytics Progress analytics, national-average comparison Progress analytics, national-average comparison By body system and exam domain BoardVitals FNP pages; NPPace
Study plan Not stated on their site Not stated on their site Personal plan built from the user's own answers BoardVitals FNP pages; NPPace
CE credit 90 contact hours, add-on 90 contact hours, add-on Not part of the stated plan BoardVitals FNP pages; NPPace

BoardVitals pages were read on 2026-11-02. Exam lengths for the boards come from the NPCB and ANCC pages listed in the sources.

The main format difference is how full-length practice is sold. BoardVitals includes one full-length exam per add-on purchase, sized to its board: 150 questions for AANP and 175 for ANCC. NPPace includes full-length exams in both formats without a limit. A candidate who plans one or two readiness checks will find the BoardVitals add-on enough; a candidate who wants to rehearse the full clock repeatedly will lean toward unlimited exams.

Explanations and sources

Both BoardVitals pages describe detailed explanations and evidence-based rationales for every question. The pages read for this article do not state whether rationales cite specific guidelines or references; that is not stated on their site. The Master and Prepare plans list an Ask a Clinician feature; the pages read do not describe how it works.

NPPace explanations are guideline-based and list their sources, so a candidate can see which document a recommendation rests on. That matters in primary care topics where guidelines change, such as hypertension targets, diabetes second agents and screening intervals.

Price per month of access

Plan Access Price Cost per month Source
BoardVitals AANP FNP Cram 1 month $159 $159.00 BoardVitals AANP FNP page
BoardVitals AANP FNP Prepare 3 months $209 $69.67 BoardVitals AANP FNP page
BoardVitals AANP FNP Master 6 months $299 $49.83 BoardVitals AANP FNP page
BoardVitals ANCC FNP Cram 1 month $139 $139.00 BoardVitals ANCC FNP page
BoardVitals ANCC FNP Prepare 3 months $189 $63.00 BoardVitals ANCC FNP page
BoardVitals ANCC FNP Master 6 months $279 $46.50 BoardVitals ANCC FNP page
NPPace (both boards, both tracks) 3 months US$300 $100.00 NPPace
NPPace (both boards, both tracks) 6 months US$500 $83.33 NPPace

Add-ons on both BoardVitals pages: a full-length practice exam at $25, or $20 with Master or Prepare, and a CE certificate at $129, or $99 with Master or Prepare. Adding one full-length exam to a 3-month plan brings the AANP total to $229 and the ANCC total to $209. The ANCC page also showed a time-limited promo code that expired on November 1.

The comparison is straightforward: for one board and one track, BoardVitals costs less at every length shown, by $91 to $111 at 3 months and by $201 to $221 at 6 months. A candidate who wanted both BoardVitals FNP banks for the same 3 months would pay $398, more than NPPace's 3-month plan, but a candidate who sits one board needs only the matching bank.

Guarantees compared

BoardVitals lists a 100% Pass Guarantee on its Prepare and Master plans; the Cram plan and the free trial do not include it. The separate guarantee page states that the guarantee covers 3-month, 6-month and 12-month or longer plans, that the remedy is a free subscription for the length of time originally purchased, offered as many times as needed to pass, and that the candidate must submit a copy of the failure letter or notice. It is an extension of access, not a refund. The guarantee page does not mention nurse practitioner banks specifically and does not list a minimum number of questions or a filing deadline; the full Terms and Conditions are linked separately and may add conditions.

NPPace has not published guarantee terms yet. It is paid once, US$300 or US$500, and nothing renews.

What NPPace does not have yet

  • A finished bank. NPPace is building its FNP and AGNP bank now and publishes no question count. BoardVitals lists 1,500+ AANP FNP and 1,800+ ANCC FNP questions.
  • A guarantee. BoardVitals' 3-month and 6-month plans include a written pass guarantee. NPPace has not published guarantee terms yet.
  • A short plan. NPPace's shortest plan is 3 months; BoardVitals offers a 1-month plan.
  • CE credit and clinician Q&A. BoardVitals sells a 90-contact-hour CE certificate and includes Ask a Clinician on longer plans. Neither is part of NPPace's stated plan.
  • A track record. NPPace is new and publishes no pass rate.

How to decide

  1. Have you chosen your board? If yes and you are an FNP candidate, BoardVitals sells a bank matched to that board at a lower monthly cost. If not, NPPace lets you practice both formats under one plan while you decide.
  2. Are you an AGNP candidate? The BoardVitals FNP pages do not mention AGNP; confirm availability with BoardVitals. NPPace covers AGNP in the same plan.
  3. How many full-length timed exams do you want? One or two can be bought as BoardVitals add-ons. For repeated full-length practice, NPPace includes them without a limit.
  4. How much does a guarantee matter? If a written guarantee is important to you, BoardVitals' Prepare or Master plan provides one, with the terms above.
  5. How long until the exam? With a month or less, the BoardVitals Cram plan fits; NPPace starts at 3 months.

Use the BoardVitals free trial in timed mode before buying, and read the explanations for the questions you miss. That shows more about fit than any comparison table.

Key points

  • BoardVitals sells separate AANP FNP (1,500+ questions) and ANCC FNP (1,800+ questions) banks; NPPace covers both boards and both FNP and AGNP in one plan but is still building its bank.
  • Per month, BoardVitals costs less: $46.50 to $69.67 on its 3-month and 6-month plans against $83.33 to $100 at NPPace.
  • BoardVitals' 3-month and 6-month plans include a pass guarantee that extends access free for the original length on proof of failure; it is not a refund. NPPace has not published guarantee terms yet.
  • BoardVitals sells one full-length exam per add-on (150 questions AANP, 175 ANCC, $20 to $25); NPPace includes unlimited full-length timed exams in both formats.
  • AGNP coverage is not mentioned on the BoardVitals FNP pages read on 2026-11-02.

Related NPPace guides

Frequently asked questions

Common follow-up questions on Compare NP Review Options.

What does the BoardVitals pass guarantee give if I fail?

The guarantee page read on 2026-11-02 says BoardVitals offers a free subscription for the length of time originally purchased, as many times as needed to pass, on 3-month, 6-month and 12-month or longer plans. A copy of the failure letter or notice is required; the page describes an extension, not a refund.

Does BoardVitals have an AGNP bank?

The two FNP pages read for this article do not mention AGNP. AGNP availability is not stated on the pages read, so check BoardVitals' nursing catalog directly.

Are full-length practice exams included in BoardVitals plans?

They are listed as an add-on: a 150-question exam on the AANP FNP page and a 175-question exam on the ANCC FNP page, $25 each or $20 with the Master or Prepare plan.

Do I need separate BoardVitals banks for AANP and ANCC?

BoardVitals lists the AANP FNP and ANCC FNP banks on separate pages with separate prices. A candidate who is undecided between the boards can compare both blueprints first, then buy the matching bank.

Sources and references

  1. BoardVitals. AANP FNP Exam Practice Questions. https://www.boardvitals.com/AANP-family-nurse-practitioner-question-bank (read 2026-11-02)
  2. BoardVitals. ANCC FNP Exam Practice Questions. https://www.boardvitals.com/family-nurse-practitioner-board-review-questions (read 2026-11-02)
  3. BoardVitals. Pass Guarantee. https://www.boardvitals.com/board-pass-rates (read 2026-11-02)
  4. Nurse Practitioners Certification Board (AANPCB). Certify: fees and exam overview. 2026. https://www.aanpcert.org/certify/
  5. American Nurses Credentialing Center. Family Nurse Practitioner Certification (FNP-BC). 2026. https://www.nursingworld.org/our-certifications/family-nurse-practitioner/
Put this into practice

FNP and AGNP board questions written as primary-care cases, with guideline-based explanations, for the AANP and ANCC exams. Create a free account and pick your track.

Create Free Account →